Sharing a section with a colleague
Sharing a section with a colleague allows you to control the assignments your colleagues will use. A typical use for sharing applies to course coordinators who might share a section with a group of colleagues, adjunct professors or graduate teaching assistants to ensure consistency across a department. This allows the course coordinator to control the content of the assignments and also to see the scores and reports for students in other sections, helping the coordinator monitor the effectiveness of the assignments included in the shared section. If your section include eBook annotations, learning outcomes (English courses only) or a World Languages gradebook, you colleague will receive those features.
What does it mean to share?
Sharing a section means sharing all assignments and course features you’ve set up in that section. As the sharing instructor, you choose what your colleague can edit. Sharing a section allows you to see scores and reports from your colleague’s section, providing a comprehensive look at student mastery of course concepts. Your colleague, however, can’t see your section’s scores or reports.
What exactly is shared with my section?
When you share a section with a colleague, you share all course features and current assignments, including every assignment’s questions, policies, attached files and dates. As you create new assignments in this “master” section, you will have the option to share those as well.
In addition to assignments, shared course features include:
- eBook annotations
- learning outcomes (English courses only)
- World Languages gradebook categories
Your section roster is never shared.
What can my colleague edit?
As sharing instructor, you control what your colleague can edit. You can permit your colleague to edit all assignment policies, to edit only assignment start and due dates, or to edit nothing at all.
Your colleague is never able to edit assignment categories (homework, practice, quiz or exam), content (questions) or submission preferences (whether an assignment is set to automatically submit on the due date).
The permissions you set will apply to every assignment in your section. Regardless of the permissions you set, your colleague will also receive all edits you make to assignment names, questions, content, policies and start and due dates.
Your colleagues are not able to edit shared course features such as learning outcomes or the World Languages gradebook. Although your colleague cannot edit or remove your eBook annotations, they are able to add to them.
Copying a section
What does it mean to copy?
Copying a section is a convenient way to provide your colleague with course features and assignments in your section. Your colleague will receive course features and assignments in your section at the time that you make the copy, and your colleague will not receive your edits to assignments or new assignments you create after copying.
What exactly is copied with my section?
When you copy a section, you copy all course features and assignments in your section at that time, including assignment dates, policies, attached files, questions and content. You also copy eBook annotations, learning outcomes (English courses only) and a World Languages gradebook.
Copying a LearnSmart module copies the topics, dates, coverage amount and points.
What can my colleague edit?
Your colleague can edit anything about the copied section — assignment dates and policies, content, learning outcomes, gradebook categories and eBook annotations.
When do you recommend copying?
We recommend copying an assignment if you:
- Teach independently from your colleague
- Do not need to monitor your colleague’s students’ scores or reports